WeGreen Westport Award Given to WECC


Westport First Selectman Jim Marpe presenting certificate to Leo Cirino, President of the WECC.

From left to right: First Selectman Jim Marpe, Barry Kresch of WECC, Leo Cirino of WECC, and Clarinda Higgins, an awardee from the Sherwood Island State Park Nature Center.

Photo credit: Dave Matlow, Westport Now

The Westport Green Task Force named the Westport Electric Car Club as one of its 2014/2015 WeGreen Westport Awardees. The club was one of 5 recipients.

The WeGreen Award is given to those individuals, businesses, or organizations who contribute to making Westport a more sustainable community. The WECC was recognized for its work with the town to develop EV charging station infrastructure (9 charging stations to date), and for staging an annual EV Road Rally promoting the benefits of EV ownership.

The ceremony took place at Wakeman Town Farm as part of the Westport GreenDay activities.

For more details and a complete list of award recipients, our friends at Westport Now provide the full story.

Leave a Comment

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!